NFL renames Super Bowl MVP award in honor of former league commissioner

Upon completion of Super Bowl XXV, the Pete Rozelle trophy gained its first ever receipient after New York Giants running back Ottis Anderson rushed for 102 yards and a touchdown in their 20-19 victory over the Bills. For his efforts, Anderson had the honor of being named the Super Bowl MVP, which, for the first time in 1990, was chosen by the NFL itself, rather than SPORT magazine, who had been making the selection since the inaugural Super Bowl.

To mark the event, the NFL decided to commission the creation of a trophy, which would be presented to all future Super Bowl MVPs, and it was christened, The Pete Rozelle Trophy. Since its inception, there have been 26 overall winners, with one player collecting the trophy on five separate occasions. There are no prizes for guessing the player in question is Tom Brady.

Fifty-six percent of winners are quarterbacks, but the title of “most unexpected winner” undoubtedly goes to Desmond Howard of the 1997 Green Bay Packers, who holds the record as the only special teams player to ever collect the award. At SB XXXI, Howard returned a kickoff 99 yards for a touchdown, which is unsurprisingly the longest return in Super Bowl history.

Leave a Comment