SRL Notes: Showdown 100 Preview

The Winter Showdown gets rolling on April 2 (SPEARS SRL Southwest Tour Series Photo).

BAKERSFIELD, Calif. – The seventh annual Winter Showdown will take place at Kern County Raceway Park on April 2, where the SPEARS SRL Southwest Tour Series Super Late Models will compete for a $ 10,000 payday.

The SPEARS Pro Late Model Series presented by Sigma Performance Services will contend for a $ 3,500 winner’s share, plus an added bonus of $ 1,500 for any driver who participated in the last event at All American Speedway, thanks to Sigma Performance Services. The SPEARS Modifieds will fight it out for $ 2,000 in the Winter Showdown Spears Modified Series 60.

The action will stream live on SPEED SPORT affiliate, www.SpearsRacing.TV.

  • Jeremy Doss leads the championship standings entering the Winter Showdown.

“It’d mean a lot to add my name to the list of Winter Showdown winners,” Doss exclaimed, “Our team has been working very hard this year to find the right ingredients to make that happen! I’m very confident that we will be a threat to win come Saturday. “

He is followed by Jacob Gomes, Jace Hansen, Cale Kanke, Trevor Huddleston, Dan Holtz, John Moore, Andy Allen, Kole Raz, Zach Telford, Dustin Ash, and Scott Sanchez, who rounds out the top 12.

  • The super late models will race 100 laps for $ 10,000 to win. Single car qualifying will be followed by two eight-lap heat races to set the line-up for the feature.

The top eight cars in qualifying will draw for position in their heat race, then race for their opportunity to sit on the pole for the prestigious event.

The remaining cars will run their heat to set the remainder of the field. The SPEARS Pro Late Models as well as the SPEARS Modified Series will follow the same procedure.

  • There will be a first-time winner in 2022, without any previous Showdown winners set to compete.

Bubba Pollard was victorious in the first two Winter Showdowns, in 2015 and ’16. Derek Thorn took home the win in 2017 and 2021. NASCAR Cup Series star Kyle Busch reigned victorious in 2018. Ty Majeski won a shortened event in 2019, when the power was knocked out at the track, due to lightning.

  • The SPEARS SRL Southwest Tour Series has visited Kern County Raceway Park19times for championship events, with five additional non-point Winter Showdown events.

The track opened in 2013 with Jim Pettit II wining the first series event. Jeremy Doss has one victory along with David Mayhew, and Blaine Rocha with Kyle Busch and Ty Majeski earning “Showdown” wins.

Derek Thorn leads all drivers with 14 wins (two Showdowns), with Bubba Pollard earning two “Showdowns”, and Linny White winning two championship events. Doss and Rocha will be looking to join the multi-winners club.

  • Twenty super late models are currently entered representing six states.

Jim Wulfenstein will make his first series start with Jordon Riddick making the longest tow from New Albany, Ind.

Six former SPEARS Southwest Tour Series winners are entered and three former champions.

  • Tyler Reif, who won last weekend’s ARCA Menards Series West race at Irwindale Speedway, will lead the SPEARS Pro Late Model Series into the third event of the season.

Reif holds a 17-point lead over 2021 KCRP winner Seth Wise. Former Madera Speedway “Short Track Shootout” winner Logan Zampa sits another 13 points back.

  • After his season-opening win at Havasu 95 Speedway, Jaron Giannini continues to lead both the rookie-of-the-year standings as well as the championship standings in the modified division.

Bullring at Las Vegas Motor Speedway multi-time champion Sam Jacks sits second in the rundown followed by Indio, Calif., Driver Jimmy Sloan, rookie-of-the-year candidate Kyle Jacks and multi-time KCRP champion Chris Dalton.

Leave a Comment